GCalendarSync v0.2 Release + Source

What is GCalendarSync? Go to the project page

First, the links: source | binary cab

If you just want to use it on your mobile, hit that binary cab link from pocket IE and it will install for you. No, I didn’t sign my assemblies (i don’t have a real certificate), so be prepared to click through some warnings. You’ll need the .NET 2.0 Compact Framework installed for this app and you can get it from Microsoft here.

I have been using it for a day now with no issues but all the usual disclaimers apply. Use it at your own risk. I’m releasing this under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 License. Share it and Remix it, but let me know what you’re doing with it so we can enjoy it too.

Oops… It just came to my attention that there’s already something out there called GCalSync. Wow it’s a small world. That app is *shiver* in java, so I need a new name for this app! Suggestions please 🙂

More detailed release notes after the jump…

Important Note
Make sure your device timezone is set correctly.
When the app launches, the status bar will show your timezone, if it’s not correct go fix it before you sync. Google stores in GMT, and the app has to convert to local time for you. If your timezone isn’t right you’ll get wierd times on all your appointments, then you’ll have to delete them all off your device and re-sync. Not fun. Trust me.

Basic Usage

  1. After you put in your account information and click Pick Calendars, it will connect and attempt to list your available calendars for you
  2. Check off one or more calendars.
  3. Make sure you go to Options->Choose Default. This will allow events created on the mobile device to be exported back to the google calendar.
  4. Click Done and then Yes to do the initial import.
  5. Import will take a little while, depending on how many events you have in the calendar. (All events are imported, this will be more flexible in the future)

Notes
Persistent Storage
All user settings are stored in plaintext in an xml file in the application directory. If you click the “Save Password” checkbox, then your password will also be stored in plaintext. I am minimally concerned about this myself, if that bothers you consider not saving your password, though you will have diminished functionality if you do that. There are a few places where the app uses the stored password instead of the text box value (an oversight on my part, this will be changed in the next release).

Sync Functions
New events created either on the Mobile or Online are synced. Changes made Online to dates and titles will be reflected on the mobile device. Other changes will not be merged. Date/Title changes on the mobile device to events already existing online will be overwritten by the online data. I need to write a better sync/merge function and that will come in the next release.

Authentication Issues
It appears that on occasion there is a random authentication failure to the API. I am guessing this happens if you try to sync too often, but couldn’t find any supporting documentation from google. If anyone wants to track that down, I’d be grateful.

Error Reporting
Errors which occur during runtime are recorded in a file somewhere near \applicationData\GCalSync\GCalSyncErrors.xml – this will help developers, and if you want to report bugs to me, include the stack trace from the error when you do.

Outlook
If you sync using ActiveSync or the Vista Sync Center, events added to your mobile calendar by this application will be merged back into your outlook calendar on the desktop. I don’t use Outlook, so I don’t think it’s a big deal, but it might affect you so you should know about it.

Future Plans
Merge Sync
As mentioned above, this feature is in progress.

Import Date Range Selection
To allow user to specify which events to import. i.e. everything from one week ago through two months in the future. or something.

Deletion Handling
Right now I have no way to detect and mirror event deletions, if you delete something from your mobile calendar, it will be re-imported at the next scheduled time. If you delete something online, it won’t be deleted off the mobile but will be orphaned instead. To handle this will require a more persistent state mechanism so that I know when an online event that used to be there doesn’t show up in the event list anymore.

Public Calendar URL Support
Right now you can import public calendars by just adding them to your Google Calender collection of calendars. Public calendars are also visible via a direct URL and I want to add a function so you can anonymously connect to calendars (even if you don’t have a Google Calendar account at all, you should still be able to import events from the Georgia Tech Basketball 06-07 public calendar for instance)

That’s it for now
If you have suggestions for improvements and features, leave me a comment and I’ll see what I can do. If you take the source and do something cool with it, drop a note so that everyone can check out your take on it.

48 Responses to “GCalendarSync v0.2 Release + Source”


  1. 1 adk December 14, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    Tried installing your program on my Windows Mobile 5 Smartphone, Samsung Blackjack. When I tried to run it, it said that I do not have the latest Compact.Net frameworkin installed on my device. Any suggestions?

  2. 2 musox December 14, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    Same issue as adk with the Moto Q.

  3. 3 theGooley December 14, 2006 at 7:01 pm

    Hey adk and musox – you can get the .NET Compact Framework directly from Microsoft here.

    I’ll update the posting to mention this requirement.

  4. 4 kobayaschi December 15, 2006 at 4:54 am

    Hi !

    I am afraid u had forget to mention this tool works only on Windows Mobile 2005. Am i rigth??

    Thx.

  5. 5 Mike December 15, 2006 at 12:55 pm

    It runs fine for me on my T-Mobile MDA, but every time I plug in my user name (email) and password it returns a login error. I’m checked my password at least 10 times, but I’ve never gotten it to work.

    Suggestions?

    Also, I’ve been syncing my calendar manually to my Mobile device with the Missing Sync, so there are some appointments on my device right now, when I get it to sync, will those be doubled up on my Google Calendar? Would I be better off starting with a clean mobile calendar when trying this?

  6. 6 Martin December 15, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    I always get “FAILED. Check username and password.” I checked several times and username and password are right, anything else it could be? I’m trying this on a T-Mobile Dash if it makes a difference.

  7. 7 Mike December 15, 2006 at 2:33 pm

    I’m in the same situation as Martin.

    Also, one question: I already have calendar items in my mobile from syncing with iCal. If I can get it to sign in and sync, will those things go up to Google and effectively double my appointments? Would it be better if I start the sync with a clean calendar on my Mobile?

  8. 8 Joseph December 15, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    Isn’t there a program you install and does it automatically?

  9. 9 theGooley December 15, 2006 at 4:51 pm

    OK, starting early this morning the authentication failure went 100% of the time, turns out it was a little change in the headers of what Google sends back. The download link has been fixed, and I posted an explanation of the change here

    Joseph – not sure what you’re asking. I haven’t written an ActiveSync installer, so you just need to point your pocket IE browser on the PDA/Phone over to that Binary url (http://files.thegooley.com/gcal/gCalSyncSetup.cab) and it will prompt you to download and install. Make sure you install the .NET Framework first though, as detailed in this post.

  10. 10 AJ December 16, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    I’ve been trying to install the .net compact framework on my PPC6700 for a few minutes now with no luck. Is anyone else able to install it? If so, how did you get it to show up in ActiveSync? My installer just made the folders on my PC in C:\Program Files\yada yada and I’ve been trying to install all the CAB files within the Windows CE folders with no luck.

  11. 11 I.N. December 16, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    I have a vx6700 and have the .Net 2.0 with service patch 1 installed without a problem. You definitely need a couple of megs of free space on the 6700 to install however. It does show up in ActiveSync as “Microsoft .NET CF 2.0”.

    On the GCalendarSync side I have an issue. I am able to install and it opens. It does find my calendar, but it doesn’t seem to sync my calendars. I created a test appointment in google calendar and a test appointment on my phone’s calendar (different days/times). However, when I open up GCalendarSync, I select the default profile and then it says “Imported 0 and exported 0 events”. So is there something else I am missing? I have it set to store my password.

  12. 12 Ron December 17, 2006 at 4:32 am

    Hi,

    I have the same thing, everything seems to be OK except when syncing it stays at imported 0 and exported 0 events. What can be wrong and how to solve?

  13. 13 Mike December 18, 2006 at 10:08 am

    I’m in the same boat as Ron and I.N. Nothing ever syncs.

  14. 14 theGooley December 18, 2006 at 11:24 am

    Those of you who are having trouble syncing, are you using Windows Mobile 5.0? Are you using Smartphone edition or the full edition?

    It has only been tested on 5.0 Smartphone (which is what I have). I don’t know anybody who has the PDA version of Windows Mobile, but I will try to find someone in order to test it.

    My guess is that the PDA version treats the calendar differently somehow, and I will try to debug this in the next day or two.

    Are people using Smartphones having any trouble?

  15. 15 Mike December 18, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    I’m using Windows Mobile 5.0

  16. 16 I.N. December 18, 2006 at 6:20 pm

    Windows Mobile 5.0 “full edition” (i.e. non-smartphone). I am willing to do some testing on this if you want me to try something for you. Just shoot me an email.

  17. 17 Ron December 19, 2006 at 1:29 am

    I have a IPAQ hw6915 with windows mobile…..

    Tell me what to do and I will try it. I am using a GPRS connection, activesync or WIFI. All of them fail. As said, I do get the calendar list though.

  18. 19 Bryan December 28, 2006 at 2:41 pm

    I just started using a program called GMobileSync (http://rareedge.com/gmobilesync/). It does the same thing and seems to work quite well (I have a BlackJack). It is not open source unfortunately but is free.

  19. 20 Jack Warren December 28, 2006 at 3:48 pm

    I just got a Motorola Q with Windows Mobile 5.0. I would like to use your product but have never downloaded a program to a PDA.

    How do I do it? Do I download it to my laptop first?

  20. 21 Murph January 15, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    i find that i have to manually force a sync after i have made changes to either mobile or gcal from a pc.

    i am using a samsung blackjack and have tried varying the sync time from 10 to 60 minutes. is there a way to ensure that it runs and starts up in memory following a reboot?

  21. 22 Guy Sayar February 23, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    I am using Google calendar, but now with with a @gmail.com account. I am using me private email address as the account.

    When I put my user/pass in, I get a credential error. Why is that?

    Thanks in advance,
    Guy

  22. 23 Todd May 14, 2007 at 11:51 am

    This program is great! There is just one bug I noticed with it…

    It does not import recurring events to the PDA. Even if it can’t do them as recurring, it should still add each as a separate event.

  23. 24 manitoba May 21, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    Great Job,

    NET 2.0 is really too big for my handset.

    What about a CF1 version ? Is there any issue for backport ?
    Would you need help for this backport ?

    Cheers

  24. 25 ARGGGH May 23, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    All right I screwed up. I had the wrong time set. I tried deleting and resyncing but the times are still screwed. Now what?

  25. 26 Naadir Jeewa June 14, 2007 at 4:04 am

    OOh, works nice on Windows Mobile 2006. Question is, should I kill off Outlook and Exchange now?

  26. 27 Tigs November 20, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    This is so cool! Only one problem – I am in +01:00 timezone (CET, Paris) and all my events are displayed with +1 hour time on iPaq (i.e. event starting at 08:00 in Google Calendar shows 09:00 in iPaq).

  27. 28 Eric Mason November 27, 2007 at 10:37 am

    I’m having the same issue as Tigs, except my appointments go in -5 hours since I’m on EST. It started when I switched to a phone with WM6.

  28. 29 Stephanie November 27, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Having the same time zone problem as Erik above. I am running WM6 and when I installed GCalSyncsetup and opened the program for the first time, I didn’t even get an option to change my timezone (although it was already correct). Any thoughts on how to work around this or fix it?

  29. 30 Jeroen Houtman - PC-Handyman April 10, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Maybe if you choose CET in the application it shows up correctly!?

    I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m thinking about using google sites soon. But I have to update my pda calendar for my business contacts.

  30. 31 Kyle June 13, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    I’ve got this installed and it connects fine. I picked my calendars and then when it goes to sync I get “FAILED: Parsing failed.”

    Doesn’t matter which calendar I choose. Anyone seen this before?

  31. 32 Ken July 6, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Thanks for your efforts, they are very valuable to many of us. I have a small problem. On my IPAQ 110 GCalendarSync main screen “Extra Settings” is partially overlain by “__ minute” and cannot be used. Is there anything I can do? I tried landscape, but that did not change anything.

  32. 33 travis July 10, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    I also have the problem regarding Extra settings not being visible/usable.. I am using a samsung i730 with Windows mobile 5.

    Also, regarding:

    QUOTE: “Share it and Remix it, but let me know what you’re doing with it so we can enjoy it too”

    ..Have you considered working with the gmobilesync project? It is a simiilar project that was made open-source

    http://www.codeplex.com/gmobilesync
    http://rareedge.com/gmobilesync/

    QUOTE:
    “GMobileSync is officially open-source. You can get involved with the project at CodePlex. I will still be contributing and maintaining releases. (Heck, I still need the program too for my mobile!) If you’re one of the several developers who have contacted me in the last few months offering to help… now is your chance! GMobileSync is entirely written in C# (all managed code) and uses the .NET 2.0 Framework.

    Anyone can join the project at CodePlex to add issues to the Issue Tracker, post items in the Discussion and even download the code. If you want to be an official developer on the project though, let me know so I can promote your CodePlex account to developer.”

    They have a lot of the features on your to-do list working, but not some of the features you have already.. I would love to have

  33. 34 travis July 23, 2008 at 11:06 am

    There is also now a google contacts api.. I would love to see it integrated into your great little app!

    http://code.google.com/apis/contacts/

  34. 35 Mark December 10, 2008 at 10:33 am

    after initial install it downloaded all events. but when it updates it duplicates all events. the only way is for me to delete all events and then ubinstall the program to remove duplications. any help. to note I don’t have a constant internet connection will my smartphone.

  35. 36 li April 25, 2009 at 5:59 am

    thanks for a great post, i may put a link to it in my own blog.if thats ok with you?
    cheeres
    liran

  36. 37 Can't set timezone April 30, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Hey, thanks. This syncs well.

    But I can’t use it because I can’t set the timezone when I run the app on my phone (Samsung SCH-i760, Windows Mobile 6.1). I can’t see the timezone setting box. To the right of the login textboxes, I see “Extra” and underneath it the top half of the word “Settings”, and I see a text box that says “60” and next to it the label “minute” and underneath a checkbox labeled “Save Passwor [sic].”

    How do I control the font size or the way the settings and login interface displays?

    Thanks a lot!

  37. 38 Jim August 26, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    I’m having the same time zone problem. My phone is set for US Central and all my google calendar times sync’d to my phone are 5 hours earlier than they should be. Was there a resolution to this?

  38. 39 JR September 14, 2009 at 1:22 am

    Hey Im using a samsung sch-i760 with mobile 6. everytime i tell it to import events, it always says “imported 0 and exported 0”. Any ideas what is up?

  39. 40 Jerry January 25, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    This is a much needed release. It’s nice to see mobile calendars getting better and better.

  40. 41 wannweil.blogspot.fr April 19, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through many of the posts I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  41. 42 rak minimarket murah November 6, 2016 at 5:33 am

    Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still
    new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for rookie blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.


  1. 1 » Sync Google Calendar With Windows Mobile » InsideGoogle » part of the Blog News Channel Trackback on December 15, 2006 at 8:27 am
  2. 2 Redmond Gadgets Trackback on December 15, 2006 at 2:26 pm
  3. 3 » Samsung BlackJack / mattwalters.net Trackback on February 28, 2007 at 6:31 pm
  4. 4 Thaibrother Bloggers Network » Blog Archive » Sync Google Calendar With Windows Mobile Trackback on July 31, 2007 at 9:25 am
  5. 5 O começo de minha odisséia mobile - Entendendo o Mundo Trackback on February 25, 2008 at 12:49 pm
  6. 6 Syncing Google Calendar with Windows Mobile 6 | Jonathan Wilbur Trackback on March 13, 2008 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This blog has moved HERE. Please go there for further updates, posts and comments.

