The Inspiration: Mobile Secretary

Yesterday I was doing my morning blog reading and stumbled upon a posting at downloadsquad.com which pointed to an old app created by Brian Cross (one of the Windows Mobile Team bloggers). He called it The Mobile Secretary and it essentially allowed you to automagically send SMS messages to someone whose call you just missed.

His example was this

I often invite my friends out to see a live band, a movie, or some other function where I won’t be able to hear my phone ring or be able to answer it. Usually, there is always one or two people who don’t exactly make it on time (sometimes that is me, but that’s another story for another day) and end up calling me to find out where we are sitting or if the evening’s plans have changed. But, since I am not able to answer the call, they just get my voicemail. Not too informative for them.

Well, the idea totally clicked with me and I immediately downloaded the source for his app and started playing with it. That’s when I discovered my problem. Windows Mobile 5.0 Smartphone (on my Moto Q) only syncs it’s calendar with Outlook. I don’t use Outlook for anything. I use GMail and Google Calendar.

This is a simple fix, I thought, someone must have a program to sync up Google Calendar with Pocket Outlook. Boy was I wrong… Sure, there are several options where you can sync a Google Calendar with Outlook on the desktop, then sync that to your mobile. But I don’t even have ActiveSync installed and since I never use Outlook, why would I ever sync my mobile to my desktop??

Thus emerged The Project. Late last night I started building my GCalendarSync app for WM5.0. Early this morning, I finished version 0.1. I’m putting a few designed-for-mass-consumption touches on it and will be releasing it tonight (with source).

0 Responses to “The Inspiration: Mobile Secretary”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MOVED!

This blog has moved HERE. Please go there for further updates, posts and comments.

